Mistral Twin
  • Info
  • Data
  • Colors
  • Photos
  • Downloads

General

The SWING development team wanted to design a high-performance tandem glider with good-natured flight characteristics, so it returned to the design principles of the successful Mistral 3. The result is the Mistral Twin, which combines direct and energy-saving handling with simple launch and flight behaviour. This guarantees both high safety and much enjoyment when flying tandem on good thermal days.
Target Market

The particularly simple launch characteristics and excellent thermal properties of the Mistral Twin make it suitable both for professional use with inexperienced passengers and also for tandem cross-country flights.
Flight behaviour

The Mistral Twin's low take-off speed is outstanding. Even with a high load, three steps are generally needed for the pilot and passenger to take off. This helps with safety, particularly if passengers are inexperienced or if launch conditions are unfavourable. The control pressure of the Mistral Twin is very low compared to other tandem gliders in the upper range and increases progressively. The glider has good dampening and high ground stability in turbulence and at the same time gives the pilot sensitive feedback on air movement and canopy response. It also has very good climb and glide features. With its unusually large weight range from 135 to 230 kg, the Mistral Twin is particularly suitable for professional use.

Design and workmanship

The glider has a similar design to that of the successful Mistral 3 with 50 cells and an aspect ratio of 5.05. The sweepback and the elliptical form give the wing a lean, sporty appearance and this is an indication of its performance. The elaborate interior of V-tapes and a system of load-bearing tapes ensures high canopy stability. The glider is equipped with an adjuster which enables a speed increase of approx. 5-6 km/h.

The results from the Mistral Twin's load test showed that the glider would withstand 8g with a take-off weight of 304 kg. The wing was even subjected to top loads of 2.9 tonnes, without it being damaged. This excellent result is evidence of the robust manufacture of the glider and the excellent quality of the materials used. The top surface of the Mistral Twin is siliconised, which gives it high UV-resistance and ensures that the glider will have a long life.

Mistral Twin 35 38

LTF homologation

1-2 1-2
125 - 195 130 - 230

Cells

50 50

Wing area (m²)

40,1 43,4

Wing area projected (m²)

34,8 37,7

Wing span (m)

14,2 14,8

Projected wing span (m)

11,27 11,72

Aspect ratio

5,05 5,05

Projected aspect ratio

3,65 3,65

Glider weight (kg)

8,8 9,3

Min. sink rate (m/s)

1,05-1,15 1,05-1,15

Max speed (km/h)

42-45 42-45

Trim speed (km/h)

36-39 36-39
  • Navigation

Special designs

In general there are two ways to individualise the paraglider,

  • firstly by a special design (see below) and,
  • secondly, by adding an advertising message to it.

Paraglider sponsoring

Here are some facts and information which you may find helpful in finding sponsors or applying for sponsorship.

Special designs

Note

The delivery time for special colors can vary strongly due to capacity utilization of our production. Please contact your dealer to inquire the respective delivery time.

Mistral Twin SplitGallery Image
© Copyright: Martin Scheel - azoom.ch
Mistral Twin DE EN FR ES

Manual

PDF

PDF

PDF

--

Inspection information

PDF

PDF

-- --
Mistral Twin 35 38

Maintenance and Service Book

PDF

PDF

Mistral Twin
  • Info
  • Daten
  • Farben
  • Fotos
  • Downloads

Allgemein

Um einen Tandemschirm mit gutmütigen Flugeigenschaften und einem hohen Leistungspotential zu konstruieren, griff das SWING Entwicklungsteam auf das Bauprinzip des Erfolgsschirms Mistral 3 zurück. Das Ergebnis ist der Mistral Twin, der ein direktes und Kraft sparendes Handling mit einem einfachen Start- und Flugverhalten in sich vereint. Damit ist sowohl ein hohes Sicherheitspotential als auch extremer Flugspaß zu zweit an tollen Thermiktagen gewährleistet.

Zielgruppe

Der Mistral Twin eignet sich dank seiner besonders einfachen Starteigenschaften sowohl für den professionellen Einsatz mit unerfahrenen Passagieren als auch für schöne Streckenflüge zu zweit aufgrund seiner hervorragenden Thermikeigenschaften.

Flugverhalten

Herausragend ist die niedrige Abhebegeschwindigkeit des Mistral Twin. Auch mit hoher Zuladung genügen meist drei Schritte, damit Pilot und Passagier abheben. Dieser Aspekt dient besonders mit unerfahrenen Passagieren oder bei widrigen Startbedingungen der Sicherheit. Der Steuerdruck des Mistral Twin ist im Vergleich zu anderen Tandemschirmen im oberen Bereich sehr gering und nimmt erst nach unten hin progressiv zu. Der Schirm besitzt eine gute Dämpfung und hohe Grundstabilität in Turbulenzen und gibt gleichzeitig feinfühlig Rückmeldung an den Piloten über Luftbewegungen und Kappenreaktion. Zudem verfügt er über sehr gute Steig- und Gleiteigenschaften. Mit seinem außergewöhnlich großen Gewichtsbereich von 135 bis 230 kg eignet sich der Mistral Twin besonders gut für den professionellen Einsatz.

Konstruktion und Verarbeitung

Der Aufbau der Kappe entspricht dem des Erfolgsschirms Mistral 3 mit 50 Zellen und einer Streckung von 5,05. Die positive Pfeilung und die elliptische Grundform verleihen dem Flügel eine schlanke, sportliche Optik, die das Leistungspotential erahnen lässt. Das aufwändige Innenleben aus V-Tapes und einem ausgetüftelten System aus Zugentlastungsbändern sorgt für hohe Kappenstabilität. Der Schirm ist mit einem Trimmgurt ausgestattet, der einen Geschwindigkeitszuwachs von ca. 5-6 km/h ermöglicht.

Mistral Twin 35 38

LTF Musterprüfung

1-2 1-2
Startgewicht (kg) Min/Max inkl. Ausrüstung 125 - 195 130 - 230

Zellen

50 50

Flügelfläche (m²)

40,1 43,4

Flügelfläche projiziert (m²)

34,8 37,7

Spannweite (m)

14,2 14,8

Spannweite projiziert (m)

11,27 11,72

Streckung

5,05 5,05

Streckung projiziert

3,65 3,65

Schirmgewicht (kg)

8,8 9,3

Min. Sinkgeschwindigkeit (m/s)

1,05-1,15 1,05-1,15

Max. Geschwindigkeit (km/h)

42-45 42-45

Trimmgeschwindigkeit (km/h)

36-39 36-39
  • Navigation

Sonderdesigns

Prinzipiell gibt es zwei verschiedene Möglichkeiten, den Schirm individuell zu gestalten:

  • einerseits mit einem Sonderdesign (siehe oben)
  • andererseits durch die Anbringung von Werbeschriftzügen.

Gleitschirmsponsoring leicht gemacht

Hier Daten und Fakten die dir bei der Aquise oder Bewerbung bei möglichen Sponsoren Hilfestellung leisten können.

Sonderdesigns

Hinweis

Die Lieferzeit für Sonderfarben kann je nach Kapazitätsauslastung unserer Produktion stark variieren. Bitte erfrage daher bei Deinem Händler die jeweils aktuelle Lieferzeit.

Mistral Twin SplitGallery Image
© Copyright: Martin Scheel - azoom.ch
Mistral Twin DE EN FR ES

Betriebsanweisung

PDF

PDF

PDF

--

Nachprüfanweisung

PDF

PDF

-- --
Mistral Twin 35 38

Service- und Kontrollheft

PDF

PDF