Arcus 6
  • Info
  • Data
  • Colors
  • Photos
  • Downloads

Arcus 6 - Brochure

Download

The most successful range in the paragliding scene continues.

Important: The Arcus 6 Compact will become the standard version of the Arcus 6 from January 2010. Find out more here.

Arcus 6 – The ideal product concept

The success story of the Arcus range continues with the Arcus 6. Swing has retained the successful concept behind the original Arcus and transferred it to a completely new design. As with the gliders it is superseding, the Arcus 6 (unaccelerated) complies with the requirements for the LTF 1 class (German airworthiness standards). It is ultimately up to the pilot to decide when to treat the glider as an LTF 1-2. Nevertheless, pilots need not go without the handling and high trim speed of the LTF 1-2 in unaccelerated flight.

Arcus 6 – a class of its own

The Arcus range is and will continue to be the perfect all-round glider for more than 60% of paraglider pilots. It receives more praise than probably any other paraglider. There is good reason why more than 10,000 Arcus gliders have been sold around the world.

So our design team led by Michael Hartmann was even more excited about the challenge of improving on its predecessors with the Arcus 6. A total of 18 prototypes were fine-tuned until the flight behaviour satisfied the team’s demands and any remaining imperfections were ironed out.

Arcus 6 – relax! - unaccelerated it’s still an LTF 1 glider

The vast majority of pilots fly unaccelerated most of the time. This is exactly what makes the Arcus 6 such a suitable glider for beginners, despite its high performance and agility. The new Arcus (unaccelerated) is and will remain an LTF 1 glider. Its stability and well-balanced nature leave no doubt as to its suitability for learners to use for their first high-altitude flights.

Pilots who fly socially or infrequently will also have great fun with this perfectly balanced all-round glider in thermal and cross-country flying, as will pilots taking a step back from higher LTF classes.

Arcus 6 – a unique glider with an attractive design

Not only is the design new, but Swing has also broken new ground in the conversion of 3D computer models into 2D templates for production. Reduced sail tension in combination with the oval air-entrances made it possible to design a canopy which is extremely smooth. Its harmonious profile, matched with an appealing and snappy design, emphasise the unique nature of the Arcus 6.

L’Arcus 6 par rapport à l’Arcus 5 – Quelles différences en vol ?

a) meilleure finesse
b) plus directe aux commandes et plus agile
c) vitesse augmentée
d) Pression de contrôle aux commandes variant graduellement afin de prévenir tout dépassement du domaine de vol
e) meilleure stabilité de la voûte
f) gamme de vitesse plus grande

L’Arcus 6 par rapport à l’Arcus 5 – comment diffèrent-ils dans la conception ?

g) entrées d’air arrondies
h) plus d’allongement
i) une forme de plan plus élancée
j) nouveau profil
k) sans de suspente « E »

ARCUS 6.32 - Compact (120 to 150 kg)

Flying enjoyment for “larger” pilots too

New performance possibilities for a group of pilots which is all too often neglected: we have added a sixth size of glider to the popular Arcus 6 range, so it now includes the 120 – 150kg weight group. The Compact 6.32 nevertheless remains a LTF1/1-2 glider. The larger surface area is compensated by the lighter material combination in the Compact version, so it offers a pleasant pack size which is comfortable to carry. This size will therefore be available only in the Compact version.

Arcus 6.32 Compact with a dual benefit

convertible to a tandem (up to 150kg)

It keeps getting better: the Arcus 6.32 Compact can be converted into a small tandem glider at any time. This is a unique selling point which should not be underestimated when it comes to resale! It is ideally suited for lighter pilots and social pilots who would like to take their children or friends flying. The 32 Compact can be converted into a very appealing and agile tandem by simply changing the risers.  And, in just a few quick steps, the small tandem changes back to an “outsized” solo glider.

Arcus 6 Compact - The standard version from 2011

New fabric and new colour combinations for the Arcus 6 Compact

New fabric and new colour combinations for the Arcus 6 Compact:

The Arcus 6 is robustly designed with a 44g/m² fabric so that it will also withstand the demanding use in flying schools. In addition, Swing has for some time been offering the Arcus 6 in the “Compact” version as well, for pilots who have completed their training. The only difference between the two versions is the fabric used.

We have been using our new Techtex WT 3020 fabric (40g/m²) for the Arcus 6 Compact since June 2010. This was first used for the Mistral 6, Astral 6 and Twin 4. We are very confident about this fabric, given what we have seen of its stability and durability both in an extensive series of tests and also in practice. As far as pilots are concerned, the main difference lies in the fact that the canopy weight is somewhat less than the original version of the Arcus 6 (44g fabric), which means that the glider rises even more easily in the inflation phase and the pack size is much more compact, as the name suggests! However, the Compact is not a lightweight glider as such. The glider’s longevity of course takes priority.

From January 2011, Swing will produce only the Compact version for general stock. However, customers will still have the option of placing a special order for the original Arcus 6 version with the 44g/m² material
(delivery time of 3 weeks).

Arcus 6 – a class of its own!

Arcus 6 22 24 26 28 30 32

LTF homologation not accelerated

1 1 1 1 1 1

LTF homologation accelerated

1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2

CEN homologation not accelerated

A A A A A A

CEN homologation accelerated

B B B B B B
60 - 80 65 - 90 80 - 105 90 - 115 105 - 130 120 - 150

Cells

44 44 44 44 44 44

Wing area (m²)

25,7 28 29,7 30,7 33,5 35

Wing area projected (m²)

22 23,9 25,4 26,3 28,6 29,9

Wing span (m)

11,62 12,06 12,49 12,7 13,19 13,55

Projected wing span (m)

9 9,46 9,75 9,9 10,3 10,6

Aspect ratio

5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25

Projected aspect ratio

3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73

Glider weight (kg)

5,35 5,65 6 6,15 6,5 6,65

Canopy weight (kg) Compact version

           

Min. sink rate (m/s)

1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05

Max speed (km/h)

50 50 50 50 50 50

Trim speed (km/h)

38 38 38 38 38 38
  • Navigation

Special designs

In general there are two ways to individualise the paraglider,

  • firstly by a special design (see below) and,
  • secondly, by adding an advertising message to it.

Paraglider sponsoring

Here are some facts and information which you may find helpful in finding sponsors or applying for sponsorship.

Special designs

Note

The delivery time for special colors can vary strongly due to capacity utilization of our production. Please contact your dealer to inquire the respective delivery time.

Arcus 6 SplitGallery Image
Foto: Martin Scheel / azoom.ch - Location: Dolomitis / Italy
Arcus 6 DE EN FR ES IT

Manual

PDF

PDF

-- --

PDF

Manual for tandem version

PDF

-- -- -- --

Inspection information

PDF

PDF

-- -- --

Brochure / Flyer

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

--
Arcus 6 22 24 26 28 30 32

Maintenance and Service Book

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

Arcus 6
  • Info
  • Daten
  • Farben
  • Fotos
  • Downloads

Arcus 6 - Prospekt

Download

Die erfolgreichste Modellserie der Gleitschirmszene wird fortgesetzt.

Wichtig: Ab Januar 2010 wird der Arcus 6 Compact zur Standardversion vom Arcus 6. Siehe mehr hier

Arcus 6 – Das perfekte Produktkonzept

Mit dem Arcus 6 bringt die Firma Swing noch mehr Aufwind in die Erfolgsgeschichte der Arcus-Klasse. Dabei wurde das Erfolgskonzept des ersten Arcus beibehalten und auf eine völlig neue Konstruktion übertragen. Wie auch seine Vorgänger, entspricht der Arcus 6 unbeschleunigt der LTF 1. Der Pilot entscheidet letztendlich wann er aus dem Schirm einen LTF 1-2 macht. Trotzdem, muss er im unbeschleunigtem Flug auf das Handling und die hohe Trimmgeschwindigkeit des LTF 1-2ers nicht verzichten.

Arcus 6 – Eine Klasse für sich

Die Arcus Modellserie ist und bleibt weiter-hin der perfekte Allrounder für über 60% der Gleitschirmpiloten und genießt das Lob der wahrscheinlich größten Fangemeinde der Szene. Nicht umsonst wurde die Modellserie insgesamt über 10.000 mal weltweit verkauft.

Umso mehr freute sich unser Entwicklungsleiter Michael Hartmann und sein Entwicklungsteam über die Heraus-forderung, die Vorgänger mit dem Arcus 6 übertreffen zu dürfen. An insgesamt 18 Prototypen wurde „getunt“, bis das Flugverhalten den Anforderungen entsprach und auch die letzte mögliche Falte geglättet wurde.

Arcus 6 – entspann(t) Dich! - unbeschleunigt immer noch ein LTF 1

Die große Mehrheit der Piloten fliegt die meiste Zeit unbeschleunigt. Genau das macht den Arcus 6, trotz seiner hohen Leistung und Wendigkeit, so anfänger-tauglich. Unbeschleunigt ist und bleibt der neue Arcus immer noch ein LTF 1er. Seine Ausgewogenheit und Stabilität garantieren unbestritten die Schulungstauglichkeit für die ersten Höhenflüge.

Aber auch Genuss- und Gelegenheitspiloten, sowie Rücksteiger von höheren LTF-Klassen, werden immens viel Spaß unter diesem perfekt abgestimmten Allrounder während ihrer Thermik- und Streckenflüge haben.

Arcus 6 – einzigartig, perfekt und schön

Nicht nur das konstruktive Konzept ist neu. Auch im Bereich Abwicklung, d.h. bei der Umsetzung vom 3D Computer-Modell in die 2D Schablonen für die Produktion, ist Swing neue Wege gegangen. Geringere Segelspannung in Kombination mit den ovalen Eintrittsöffnungen – dies ermöglichte es eine extrem faltenarme Kappe zu konzipieren. Seine harmonische Silhouette gepaart mit einem ansprechenden und zackigen Design unterstreichen die Einzigartigkeit des Arcus 6.

Arcus 6 vs. Arcus 5 – wo sind die Unterschiede im Flug?

a) mehr Gleitleistung
b) direkteres Handling, mehr Wendigkeit
c) höhere Trimmgeschwindigkeit
d) höherer Steuerdruck gegen Ende des Steuerweges (sehr gut erkennbarer Stallpunkt)
e) höhere Kappenstabilität
f) größeres Geschwindigkeitsfenster beim Ausflairen
g) Größe 32 in der Arcus 6 Compact Version für XXL und leichte Tandempiloten

Arcus 6 vs. Arcus 5 – welches sind die konstruktiven Unterschiede?

h) ovale Öffnungen
i) mehr Streckung
j) weiter nach hinten gepfeilte Planform
k) anderes Profil
l) keine E Leinenebene

Wie all seine Vorgänger übertrifft der Arcus 6, in Punkto Gleitleistung und Geschwindigkeit, alle aktuellen Schirme der Kategorie LTF 1 bei weitem. Saubere Verarbeitung, hohe Sicherheitsreserven und die Verwendung qualitativ hochwertigster Materialien gehören natürlich auch beim Arcus 6 zum Standard.

Arcus 6.32 - Compact (120 bis 150 kg)

Genuss auch für "große" Flieger

Neue Leistungs-Perspektiven für eine allzu oft vernachlässigte Pilotengruppe: Mit einer sechsten Schirmgröße haben wir die beliebte Arcus 6-Palette ergänzt um den Gewichtsbereich zwischen 120 und 150 kg. Dabei bleibt der Compact 6.32 dennoch ein LTF 1/ 1-2er. Die größere Fläche wird durch den leichteren Materialmix der "Compact" Version kompensiert und präsentiert damit ein angenehmes, gut tragbares Packvolumen. Diese Größe wird es daher nur in der "Compact" Version geben.

Arcus 6.32 - Compact

mit Doppelvorteil - zum Tandem wandelbar (bis 150 kg)

Es kommt noch besser: Jederzeit kann ein Arcus 6.32 Compact zum kleinen Tandemschirm umgewandelt werden. Ein nicht zu unterschätzender Marktvorteil beim Wiederverkauf! Ideal geeignet ist er für leichtere Piloten und Genussflieger, die gerne mal ihre Kinder oder Freunde mitnehmen. Durch den einfachen Austausch des Tragegurts verwandelt sich der 32er Compact in einen sehr ansprechenden und agilen Tandem. Mit wenigen Handgriffen verwandelt sich der kleine Tandem zurück zum "übergroßen" Soloschirm.

Arcus 6 – Compact ab 2011 Standardversion

Neues Tuch und neue Farbkombinationen für den Arcus 6 Compact

Neben unserem Arcus 6, der mit einem 44g/m² Material betont robust ausgeführt ist, um auch im harten Flugschulalltag lange bestehen zu können, bietet Swing den Arcus 6 seit längerer Zeit ebenfalls in der Version „Compact“ für den ausgebildeten Piloten an. Der Unterschied zwischen beiden Versionen liegt ausschließlich im Segelmaterial.

Beim Arcus 6 Compact wird nun seit Juni 2010 das neue Techtex-Tuch WT 3020 (40g/m²) verwendet, welches beim Mistral 6, Astral 6 und dem Twin 4 erstmals zum Einsatz kam. Stabilität und Haltbarkeit dieses Tuchs hat Swing in einer langen Versuchsreihe und in der Praxis mehr als überzeugt. Für den Piloten liegt der spürbare Unterschied darin, dass das Kappengewicht in Relation zur Ursprungsversion des Arcus 6 (mit 44g Tuch) etwas geringer ausfällt und der Schirm dadurch in der Aufziehphase noch leichter steigt und das Packmaß deutlich kompakter ist; wie der Name schon sagt! Ein ausgesprochener Leichtschirm ist der Compact jedoch nicht. Die Langlebigkeit hat hier ganz klar den Vorrang.

Ab Januar 2011 wird nur noch die Compact Version fürs Lager produziert. Auf ausdrücklichen Wunsch des Kunden, kann aber noch die ursprüngliche Arcus 6 Version mit dem 44g/m² Material bestellt werden (Lieferzeit 3 Wochen).

Arcus 6 ... eine Klasse für sich!

Arcus 6 22 24 26 28 30 32

LTF Musterprüfung - unbeschleunigt

1 1 1 1 1 1

LTF Musterprüfung - beschleunigt

1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2 1-2

CEN Musterprüfung - unbeschleunigt

A A A A A A

CEN Musterprüfung - beschleunigt

B B B B B B
Startgewicht (kg) Min/Max inkl. Ausrüstung 60 - 80 65 - 90 80 - 105 90 - 115 105 - 130 120 - 150

Zellen

44 44 44 44 44 44

Flügelfläche (m²)

25,7 28 29,7 30,7 33,5 35

Flügelfläche projiziert (m²)

22 23,9 25,4 26,3 28,6 29,9

Spannweite (m)

11,62 12,06 12,49 12,7 13,19 13,55

Spannweite projiziert (m)

9 9,46 9,75 9,9 10,3 10,6

Streckung

5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25 5,25

Streckung projiziert

3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73 3,73

Schirmgewicht (kg)

5,35 5,65 6 6,15 6,5 6,65

Schirmgewicht (kg) Compact Version

           

Min. Sinkgeschwindigkeit (m/s)

1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05 1,05

Max. Geschwindigkeit (km/h)

50 50 50 50 50 50

Trimmgeschwindigkeit (km/h)

38 38 38 38 38 38
  • Navigation

Sonderdesigns

Prinzipiell gibt es zwei verschiedene Möglichkeiten, den Schirm individuell zu gestalten:

  • einerseits mit einem Sonderdesign (siehe oben)
  • andererseits durch die Anbringung von Werbeschriftzügen.

Gleitschirmsponsoring leicht gemacht

Hier Daten und Fakten die dir bei der Aquise oder Bewerbung bei möglichen Sponsoren Hilfestellung leisten können.

Sonderdesigns

Hinweis

Die Lieferzeit für Sonderfarben kann je nach Kapazitätsauslastung unserer Produktion stark variieren. Bitte erfrage daher bei Deinem Händler die jeweils aktuelle Lieferzeit.

Arcus 6 SplitGallery Image
Foto: Martin Scheel / azoom.ch - Location: Dolomitis / Italy
Arcus 6 DE EN FR ES IT

Betriebsanweisung

PDF

PDF

-- --

PDF

Betriebsanweisung Tandemversion

PDF

-- -- -- --

Nachprüfanweisung

PDF

PDF

-- -- --

Prospekt / Flyer

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

--
Arcus 6 22 24 26 28 30 32

Service- und Kontrollheft

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF