Arcus 4
  • Info
  • Data
  • Colors
  • Photos
  • Downloads

ARCUS 4 - Download Product Brochure

With the ARCUS 4, the SWING development team has again succeeded in developing a glider which allows great fun in thermals and cross-country flying, but which is not too demanding for inexperienced pilots and beginners. The ARCUS 4 is a versatile all-rounder, with DHV 1/1-2 (accelerated) classification. It far exceeds all current DHV 1 gliders in performance and speed, but nevertheless it demonstrates much more good-natured flight behaviour than pure DHV 1-2 gliders.

Target market

The ARCUS 4 has excellent ascent behaviour and good damping, making it a first-rate glider for thermal flying. Its excellent glide and good speed range mean that the ARCUS 4 is also suitable for cross-country flying but, at the same time, it has a good safety margin which makes it suitable for learners without any restrictions. The ARCUS 4 is thus the ideal glider for a very wide range of pilots, from beginners and social pilots to cross-country pilots.

Flight behaviour

The launch behaviour of the ARCUS 4 is perfectly tuned particularly for beginners: clear and simple with no tendency to overshoot. The canopy rises quickly and evenly above the pilot with low momentum. The glider conveys a very calm feeling during flight, so it is ideal for pilots for whom calmness in the air is important. Despite its excellent performance (Vmax 50 km/h) the development team has placed great importance on good-natured behaviour in extreme flight.

Design and workmanship

Michael Hartmann from SWING’s develogment team explains:

“Our aim was to create a glider with DHV 1 certification in trimmed flight. We achieved this in the end after much expenditure on development. We drew on the profile of the successful MISTRAL 3 for the ARCUS 4. The challenge then was to modify the profile of a high-performance intermediate glider in such a way that the glider had uncompromising good-natured flight behaviour. The main difficulties lay in optimising the way it turns after an asymmetric tuck. We went through a few prototypes before we had fine-tuned the profile and the trim. The end result, the ARCUS 4, exceeded our expectations. I believe that the ARCUS 4 is the best glider available for beginners and occasional pilots.”

The exclusive and functional choice of materials guarantees that the glider will have a long life. The predecessors to the ARCUS 4 have already distinguished themselves on the used glider market by their high resale value, and we are sure that the ARCUS 4 will be in no way inferior to them.

Arcus 4 22 24 26 28 30

LTF homologation not accelerated

1 1 1 1 1

LTF homologation accelerated

1 1-2 1-2 1-2 1
55 - 75 60 - 85 75 - 100 90 - 115 105 - 140

Cells

46 46 46 46 46

Wing area (m²)

25 26,5 28,5 30,5 32,5

Wing area projected (m²)

22,6 24,1 25,8 27,6 29,2

Wing span (m)

11,4 11,8 12,2 12,6 13

Projected wing span (m)

9,2 9,45 9,8 10,1 10,4

Aspect ratio

5,17 5,17 5,17 5,17 5,17

Projected aspect ratio

3,7 3,7 3,7 3,7 3,7

Glider weight (kg)

6 6,25 6,5 7 7,3

Min. sink rate (m/s)

1,1 1,1 1,1 1,1 1,1

Max speed (km/h)

51 52 52 52 50

Trim speed (km/h)

36 35-36 34-36 36 36
  • Navigation

Special designs

In general there are two ways to individualise the paraglider,

  • firstly by a special design (see below) and,
  • secondly, by adding an advertising message to it.

Paraglider sponsoring

Here are some facts and information which you may find helpful in finding sponsors or applying for sponsorship.

Special designs

Note

The delivery time for special colors can vary strongly due to capacity utilization of our production. Please contact your dealer to inquire the respective delivery time.

Arcus 4 SplitGallery Image
Foto: Martin Scheel / azoom.ch - Location: Switzerland
Arcus 4 DE EN FR ES

Manual

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

Inspection information

PDF

PDF

-- --

Brochure / Flyer

PDF

PDF

-- --

Test report Gleitschirm Magazin

-- -- --

PDF

Arcus 4 22 24 26 28 30

Maintenance and Service Book

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

Arcus 4
  • Info
  • Daten
  • Farben
  • Fotos
  • Downloads

Zusammenfassung der Testberichte Arcus 4 hier.

ARCUS 4 - komplette Produktpräsentation hier.

ARCUS 4 – Was sonst!

Mit dem ARCUS 4 ist dem Entwicklungsteam von SWING erneut ein Schirm gelungen, der enormen Spaß beim Thermik- und Streckenfliegen macht und trotzdem auch unerfahrene Piloten und Anfänger nicht überfordert. Mit der Kategorie DHV 1/1-2 (beschleunigt) ist der ARCUS 4 ein vielseitiger Allrounder: Er übertrifft in punkto Leistung und Geschwindigkeit alle aktuellen Schirme der Kategorie DHV 1 bei weitem, dennoch weist er ein deutlich gutmütigeres Flugverhalten als reine DHV 1-2er Schirme auf.

Zielgruppe

Der ARCUS 4 verfügt über ein hervorragendes Steigverhalten und gute Dämpfung und ist damit ein erstklassiger Begleiter für Thermikflüge. Mit seiner ausgezeichneten Gleitleistung und dem großen Geschwindigkeitsfenster eignet sich der ARCUS 4 darüber hinaus zum Streckenfliegen, gleichzeitig besitzt er hohe Sicherheitsreserven, die ihn uneingeschränkt schulungstauglich machen. Damit ist der ARCUS 4 der ideale Schirm für ein enorm breites Pilotenspektrum vom Einsteiger über den Genussflieger bis hin zum Steckenflugpiloten.

Flugverhalten

Das Startverhalten des Arcus 4 ist besonders für Anfänger perfekt abgestimmt: Absolut einfach und übersichtlich, ohne Tendenz zum Überschießen. Mit einem geringen Impuls steigt die Kappe zügig und gerade über den Piloten. Der Schirm vermittelt ein sehr ruhiges Fluggefühl – ideal also für Piloten, die in der Luft Wert auf Gelassenheit legen. Trotz der hervorragenden Leistung (Vmax 50 km/h) hat das Entwicklungsteam größten Wert auf ein absolut gutmütiges Extremflugverhalten gelegt.

Konstruktion und Verarbeitung

Michael Hartmann vom SWING - Entwicklungsteam erzählt:

„Für den ARCUS 4 haben wir auf das Profil des Erfolgsschirms MISTRAL 3 zurückgegriffen. Die Herausforderung bestand nun darin, das Profil eines leistungsstarken Intermediates so abzuwandeln, dass der Schirm ein kompromisslos einfaches Flugverhalten aufweist. Die Schwierigkeiten lagen insbesondere darin, das Wegdrehverhalten nach einseitigen Klappern zu optimieren. Es hat uns schließlich einige Prototypen gekostet, bis wir das Profil und die Trimmung optimal auf einander abgestimmt hatten. Das Endergebnis, der ARCUS 4, hat unsere Erwartungen um einiges übertroffen. Ich bin der Meinung, dass der ARCUS 4 momentan der beste Schirm für Gelegenheitspiloten und Einsteiger ist.“

Die exklusive und funktionale Materialauswahl gewährleistet eine hohe Lebensdauer. Schon die ARCUS-Vorgängermodelle haben sich durch einen hohen Wiederverkaufswert auf dem Gebrauchtmarkt ausgezeichnet, und wir sind uns sicher, dass der ARCUS 4 ihnen in nichts nachstehen wird.

Arcus 4 22 24 26 28 30

LTF Musterprüfung - unbeschleunigt

1 1 1 1 1

LTF Musterprüfung - beschleunigt

1 1-2 1-2 1-2 1
Startgewicht (kg) Min/Max inkl. Ausrüstung 55 - 75 60 - 85 75 - 100 90 - 115 105 - 140

Zellen

46 46 46 46 46

Flügelfläche (m²)

25 26,5 28,5 30,5 32,5

Flügelfläche projiziert (m²)

22,6 24,1 25,8 27,6 29,2

Spannweite (m)

11,4 11,8 12,2 12,6 13

Spannweite projiziert (m)

9,2 9,45 9,8 10,1 10,4

Streckung

5,17 5,17 5,17 5,17 5,17

Streckung projiziert

3,7 3,7 3,7 3,7 3,7

Schirmgewicht (kg)

6 6,25 6,5 7 7,3

Min. Sinkgeschwindigkeit (m/s)

1,1 1,1 1,1 1,1 1,1

Max. Geschwindigkeit (km/h)

51 52 52 52 50

Trimmgeschwindigkeit (km/h)

36 35-36 34-36 36 36
  • Navigation

Sonderdesigns

Prinzipiell gibt es zwei verschiedene Möglichkeiten, den Schirm individuell zu gestalten:

  • einerseits mit einem Sonderdesign (siehe oben)
  • andererseits durch die Anbringung von Werbeschriftzügen.

Gleitschirmsponsoring leicht gemacht

Hier Daten und Fakten die dir bei der Aquise oder Bewerbung bei möglichen Sponsoren Hilfestellung leisten können.

Sonderdesigns

Hinweis

Die Lieferzeit für Sonderfarben kann je nach Kapazitätsauslastung unserer Produktion stark variieren. Bitte erfrage daher bei Deinem Händler die jeweils aktuelle Lieferzeit.

Arcus 4 SplitGallery Image
Foto: Martin Scheel / azoom.ch - Location: Switzerland
Arcus 4 DE EN FR ES

Betriebsanweisung

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

Nachprüfanweisung

PDF

PDF

-- --

Prospekt / Flyer

PDF

PDF

-- --

Testbericht Gleitschirm Magazin

-- -- --

PDF

Arcus 4 22 24 26 28 30

Service- und Kontrollheft

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF

PDF